Thread: What's your 338 lapua like to eat?

Basic Member

What's your 338 lapua like to eat?

I've been shooting to 1,000 yards for nearly 8 years now and after being around a couple guys with 338 lapua magnums I think it's time that I jumped on the wagon. I had an excellent opportunity to see how well they bucked the wind, how little elevation change was needed, and how much force they still had at 1,000 yards. I'd like to get on the wagon, and I know I'd like to get the Savage HS model, but now I'm trying to figure out powders and bullets shoot well in the guns. Normally, before starting a new build I like to know what I'm getting into so if there's some commonly used powders and bullets then I'd like to hear what other 338 lapua reloaders are using with great results.

Basic Member
    Lapua brass/RE 33/CCI primer/300 SMK

Banned
    Never have seen R-33, didn't know it even existed!

Basic Member
    Lapua brass, Retumbo, Federal Magnum Match primers, Hornady 285gr HPBT

Team Savage
    Ramshot Magnum and 265 Barnes for me

Quote Originally Posted by teddy12b View Post
    What's your 338 lapua like to eat?
    Money

Basic Member
    Quote Originally Posted by RC20 View Post
    Never have seen R-33, didn't know it even existed!
    Wanted to try retumbo but this was all I could get during the craze a few years ago. Works excellent. Not supposed to be temp sensitive but I haven't tested that myself

Basic Member
    Yep..Money no need for.338. Go with a 6mm 6.5mm 7mm

Team Savage
    It's true.... they do eat money and there really isn't a need to have them to get to the 1000 yes mark...... but then it's not always about need.......

Basic Member
    I use mine for LR hunting (knockdown power) 260 for LR target shooting. I got good deals on my bullets and brass came with the rifle when I bought from previous owner. I load for $1.02 per round currently

Basic Member