Thread: Newbie w/ 110 --- 30-06 misfire question

Basic Member

Newbie w/ 110 --- 30-06 misfire question

Hi all - newbie here.

I believe this is a late 50's Savage 110 in 30-06, that is exceptionally clean and been in my family for 45+ years. It was not fired much for the last 20 years but that has changed since my Dad gave it to me. I started hunting with it about 3 years ago. This year, at the range, the first shot misfired, I didn't think much of it. The next (3) shots fired and were accurate as hell. I put it away. I went deer hunting this past Saturday, Mr Buck popped into my world and the first shot misfired ! I had a second chance and dropped him, BUT - I believe I have an issue.

I'm very handy and have taken apart several older guns my Dad has given me to make sure they were clean and firing well. I have never taken apart a bolt action, but am confident with good direction, that I can successfully do so and adjust and or replace what might need it.

Where should I start this endeavor ?

Sounds like the bolt needs stripped and thoroughly cleaned. Also check firing pin protrusion. Handloads or factory ammo?
    "An armed society is a polite society"
    "...shall not be infringed" What's the confusion?

Basic Member
    It's Remington core-lokt 150 grain.
    I'm assuming the bolt is spring loaded. I tried to locate clear directions/ photos to do this but wasn't successful. Any insight to do this properly would be appreciated...

If the gun was stored for that many years, and perhaps it was stored "cocked", then there's a good chance that the firing pin spring may be tired. It wouldn't hurt to disassemble the bolt, clean it thoroughly and possibly replace the spring.