Thread: Building a "practical rifle", looking for a reasonable low mag variable

Basic Member

Building a "practical rifle", looking for a reasonable low mag variable

I'm new to the Savage world. I've been wanting to build a "practical rifle" for some time now - a short, light, 1-3x or 1-4x optic equipped rifle in .308 for offhand use out to 200 or so yards. (I've heard these referred to as "walking rifles" if that helps.) I was planning on building this - someday - on a Tikka T3 Lite, but I found the Stevens 200 and was able to afford starting the project right now.

I've had good luck with Talley one piece rings/bases on my 700, so I'm leaning to using them on this rifle. I'm trying to decide what optic to use with about a $300 or so budget. So far I'm considering the Nikon 1-4x Monarch African, a Weaver 1-3x, a Leupold Mark AR 1.5-4x or a Leupold VX-II 1-4x. Illuminated would be a plus but I think it's unlikely with any kind of quality in my price range.

Can anyone offer their experiences with less expensive lower powered variables like these? Thanks!
    Just a guy.

Re: Building a "practical rifle", looking for a reasonable low mag variable

I have an older Nikon Monarch 1.5-4.5x on my 375 H&H. It is very clear and fast, especially at lower power. It has had no problems taking the pounding of 300gr bullets and the 375 H&H recoil. I'm sure a Nikon scope would hold up just fine on your 308. Lately I've been thinking of upping the scope power to a 2-7x, or a 2-8x to give me some more range. You don't say what the intended targets are at 200yds, but in a 4x scope 200 yds is pretty small.

I use mine for elk hunting, as a backup for my 338 Win mag, and want enough scope to shoot to 300 yds