Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: 12FV owners---What factory ammo works for you?

Basic Member

12FV owners---What factory ammo works for you?

Wasn't sure to post here or "At The Range".
    Seems to be several new 12FV owners and didn't want to bury this in another long 12FV thread.
    For the factory ammo shooters, I am curious what has worked and what has not. I do not plan, at this time, to reload if I can find something to live with. I am a novice, so the more I shoot, the more comfortable I get. Today, I adjusted down my accutrigger, and it seemed to help today's groupings. It felt better.
    I purchased an assortment to get an idea. Nothing high end, until I get some range time in. Obviously, since every rifle is different, YMMV.

These results are from using all of the ammo in 4 shot groups.
    AE 50 gr. JHP..............Consistent, promising, different POI
    Hornady 53 gr. Vmax....Consistent, promising, different POI
    AE AR223 55 gr. FMJ....Promising, somewhat consistent
    AE 55 gr. FMJBT..........Decent groups, somewhat consistent
    PPU 55 gr. SP..............Just so-so
    PMC Bronze 55 gr. PSP..Not good
    AE 62 gr. FMJBT..........Not bad, a bit inconsistent
    Armscor 62 gr. FMJ.......Decent groups, somewhat inconsistent
    PPU 69 gr. HPBT..........Somewhat consistent. Promising

Updated for new info.

Australian Outback 69 gr. HPBT........Consistent, sub moa
    Black Hills 68 gr. MKHP....................Consistent, sub moa, very tight tolerance in a 50 round box
    IMI 55 gr. FMJ...............................Not good(from my rifle), about like PMC Bronze
    AE AR223 55gr. FMJ........................See above. The more I use the better it gets.
    AE Ar223 50gr. varmint tipped...........Fairly consistent, sub MOA, different POI than heaviers

If you have done something similar, what works for yours? Just curious.