Thread: Help with AXIS decision

Basic Member

Help with AXIS decision

I have a heavy Douglas barrel for a 30-06 AI build. I haven't had any luck finding an old school 110 for this build. Lots of newer stuff - with higher prices! The local pawn shop has an Axis for $260 in 30-06.
    Tell me about the Axis.
    Other than - "they are ugly" - how do they shoot at distance?? I don't shoot in any competition but would like to go to 1000yds with this.
    Are there 20 MOA bases for the Axis?
    Aftermarket triggers?
    I am assuming the thread pitch on the barrel is the same as a small shank 110.

What are the down sides (cosmetics and resale value excluded) of building on an Axis vs. a 110?

Basic Member
    I have both an Axis and several 10/110s. I'm no expert but here are some things I do know.

1. 20 MOA bases available? Yes, I have an EGW on mine.
    2. Aftermarket triggers? Yes, Rifle Basix Sav-1 and Timney both fit the Axis. I have a RB on mine and like it, but not as much as the SSS Competition that I have on a 110.
    3. Barrel threads? Standard Savage small shank, so any small shank barrel will fit.
    4. Downsides? Not as many aftermarket options as the 110, stock, triggers etc.

Swissfan summed it up nicely!

I haven't shot a factory Axis out to 1000 yards, but I have three project rifles that have made the trip.

"Taxis", .243 Winchester: 1000 yard steel and F-Class rig.

"Maxis", .300 Win Mag : 1000 yard steel and 1 mile steel

The other one, 6.5 Creed: 1000 yard steel

Basic Member
    OK
    Thanks for the info and eye candy!! I think I'll make a trip to the pawn shop and bring that one home. Doc, what brand of stocks are the non laminated ones??

They're all laminate. They're Boyds Pro-Varmints. Same one I run. Hard to beat for the money.