Thread: Help The New Guy Pick an Optic?

Justin.D

Post Help The New Guy Pick an Optic?

How’s it going all,

I just picked up a 10 FCP-SR in .308 for my first center-fire rifle and my second firearm purchase to my 10/22. I am 19 years old and am the first firearm owner in my family and love getting out and shooting. I'm on a decent budget because I am a Mechanical Engineering student at SDSU, but I try not to let that stop me from getting out and doing what I enjoy when I can find the time. Besides firearms I enjoy fabrication, circle track and offroad racing, and jetskis/boats. I picked up my bolt gun with the desire to try to ring steel as far as my capabilities will allow me, hopefully 600-800 yards with time and maybe the revered 1000 yard distance with even more time and practice, as well as a little luck. Thanks to this website Ive already learned a lot and hope to get some feedback from you all.

Obviously shooting at this distance will require a good optic, and I’m guessing even though the cheap UTG 4x16x44 scope I have now has served me well, I should be looking at something a little higher quality for the job.
    For this optic I’m looking to spend somewhere in the sub $500 range unless that is really going to hold me back from something that’s great and a little bit more. I would like to be somewhere in the 16-24 power range. Obviously as a college student it takes a while for me to save money after bills so budget is something I have to keep in mind, however If I’m spending money I definitely want it to be a upgrade from what I have.
    So far the choices I have considered are,

Vortex Crossfire II 6-24x50 SFP $200 on sale at midway.

http://ads.midwayusa.com/product/819...FY17fgod4Q0N4w