Thread: Is this a reasonbly good idea?

Is this a reasonbly good idea?

Hey guys,
    Ive been reloading for several years but didnt shoot nearly as much as I do now. Id pick up a pound of powder here and there. Ive gotten to the point that I have several pounds of the same powder but theyre different lot numbers because I would buy them at different times. Would it make sense for me to say take a couple pounds of Varget and mix them together, mix them well, so I would have 2 pounds of 1"lot". It makes sense in my head I was just wondering your guys thoughts on this. Im sure someone is gonna roast me on this lol.
    Thanks
    Scooter
    I'm the Boss. I make sure what she wants gets done.

Process_engineer
    I've been told many times to never mix lots. You'll never ensure a homogeneous mix among other reasons

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

Basic Member
    I have a habit of mixing the remainder of a bottle into a new bottle and then double checking my workup. I don't know that I would mix everyone at once, but the last 1-2 oz of one into a lb of new doesn't bother me.

LongRange
    I've mixed lots for years and have never had an issue and have never seen or had these extreme spreads ppl talk about from lot to lot.
    with that said I've never used varget but I have shot a LOT of RL-17-19-22 that I've mixed lots and from lot to lot never seen huge velocity swings.

All resellers like Hodgdon mix their supplier/manufacture lots to get the most consistent burn rate from lot to lot of their packaged product.
    The Dunning-Kruger effect is alive and well.

I'll not recommend anything one way or another...BUT...