Thread: Lee perfect powder measure

Basic Member

Lee perfect powder measure

I am posting this thread to explain what I've found in regards to this loading tool. Take it for what its worth.

I've been using the PPM for several years now and my understanding of it has not been very good until this last year.

To begin with, I have used it like most reloaders do, adjust it close to the desired charge and then trickle.

Well after hours and hours of trying to work out a method to drop or through accurate charges I've come to have a better understanding of how this all works.
    First off, for a company to state that it is The Perfect Powder Measure, there must be some validity to the claim.
    When you measure by volume it is a whole new game. And I believe it is more accurate in the big picture than using scales. A bold statement for sure but volume is always the same with powder but weight can and does change.

Basic Member
    I have to post this way because my computer doesn't work right, sorry.

So to continue; here's what I've found. 1- Don't underestimate the PPM. 2- This is a big one, Understand that powder can change per lot. 3- Follow the instructions and use the chart in the back of the manual for the volume to weight ratio. It is the only way to obtain the correct weight of a particular type of powder. 4- don't tap the measure or jiggle it. this is definitely the wrong approach to using this tool. 5- Use slow motions when operating the handle. This lets the powder fall into the tube very consistently and dump the charge slow. This will greatly reduce the chance of the powder getting clogged as it falls into the case.

Basic Member
    Again I apologize for the way I'm posting this.