Thread: Short barreled woods rifle.......

Basic Member

Short barreled woods rifle.......

Looking of either building or buying (ER shaw) a short barreled 16-18" woods rifle in either 358 win, 35 wheeler or 338/06. I generally hunt deer but have been bear hunting a few times and plan on moose hunting at some point. I have been reloading for a few years and the reason I chose the chamberings above is because I already have 30-06 and 308 brass but am perfectly open to other suggestions. Max range for my shots are maybe 150 yards but I just want a real hammer. Has anyone built a similar setup?

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

There was a thread on those a while back. Somebody posted this pic of exactly what your after, a 358 Shaw.
    The Dunning-Kruger effect is alive and well.

Basic Member
    That's basically exactly what I have in mind. I tried using the search feature and it didn't show any results.....

I google it and found it in the archives. Copied and pasted an image link that said 358 shaw barrel. I am caveman.

Banned
    How about going with a 30-06 and just use a 220 grain slug?

I have a Savage 20 inch barrel in that caliber coming off a gun soon. New barrel, not shot much, good TE and MW specs.

Newer powders you can get to 300 WM ops levels in t 30-06 these days.

Basic Member
    My suggestion would be towards the 358. I believe it will lose less from the short barrel than the '06 based rounds, and you can load some heavy bullets that will penetrate any bear. Good selection of bullets around for the 35 cal too. Short cartridge equals faster reloading for second shot.

It's not a Savage, but you might luck into a 356 Win lever action. Now you're talking fast and handy, like my 375 Win.

Basic Member
    Quote Originally Posted by Robinhood View Post
    There was a thread on those a while back. Somebody posted this pic of exactly what your after, a 358 Shaw.