Thread: Savage 11 VT in 223, best group at 100 yards

Basic Member

Savage 11 VT in 223, best group at 100 yards

Hi all,

First post here.
    I got a Savage 11 VT in 223 at Dicks, for $399. Model comes with plastic stock and Bushnell scope.

My idea is to use this rifle for target shooting only, so the heavy barrel is actually something that I wanted.

I did not have time to do any of the changes I wanted, just took it to the range after some cleaning.

This is the best group I got with Fiocchi Extrema Hornady V-Max 50 grain (https://www.midwayusa.com/product/31...max-ammunition)

Pretty impressive with what the rifle can do out of the box, with the not so good scope...

Changes I'm planning to do are:

Boyds Stock
    Vortex Viper HS-T 6-24x 50mm
    Harris Bipod

And I think now is time to start doing some reloading... I'm completely new to reloading, will have to learn everything from scratch, as I only shoot 22lr.

Thanks!

Basic Member
    Is that 5 shots? And no flyer - you found a good one! A stock that fits you and better scope, it will reach out there. Congratulations!

Basic Member
    Great shooting.....when you go to buy reloading supplies for that rifle get a jug of H335 and some bullets in the 40-55 grain range and you'll be in business.

Team Savage
    Sir, that is outstanding

Basic Member
    Yes, that is 5 shoots with the factory loads. This is the best group I had, kind of hard to do this with a 12x scope. I did not clean the rifle during the entire session, this group was done after around 30 shoots.

Stock from Boyds arrived yesterday, I still have to trim it since it was not for Heavy Barrel, and I want it to be free floating.

All metal parts from Savage also arrived, the magazine case is so much better.

The Vortex also arrived, but no rings. Today I will get some 30 mm rings and get it ready for the weekend. The scope seems to be much much better.

Some good barrel cleaning should also help. :)

I will post pictures of the rifle tonight.