Thread: cold bore - high

Basic Member

cold bore - high

ok - I've been shooting my 93 in 22WMR enough this summer to get real comfortable with it. I've been playing with a copy of a target from "smack the smiley" in which you have to shoot your first shot from a cold bore, i.e. the first shot of the day. Ever since I started shooting this gun, my first cold bore shot will go 3/4 to 1" high at 50 yds. I've done this enough to believe that it's not just me yanking the first round. What I don't understand is the mechanics of that first shot. My point of aim doesn't change from the 1st to the 50th, but after that first round I can consistently hold .5" groups below that first cold bore shot. I wouldn't think a 22WMR would produce enough heat in the barrel to make THAT much difference on one shot.

Any thoughts?

Elkbane

Re: cold bore - high

Could be your rear bag, if you are using one. Recoil tends to settle the stock in the rear bag somewhat and once it's compacted, it stays compacted. Try pounding your stock into the rear bag before you take the first shot (even though 22 WMr doesn't have much recoil).

Other thing to think about is your magazine. The spring is pretty compressed feeding first cartridge from a full mag and may cause the bullet to scrape a little going in. You might try loading the first round from a mag with a few rounds in it, put the saftey on, remove the mag, fill it -1 , then reinsert. I have a 10/22 that always tosses the first shot from a full mag, cold or hot.

Once you rule those out, I'd guess the action is shifting a little in the stock the action "settles in" with the first shot.....
    Elkbane

Eric in NC

Are you cleaning your barrel after range session? If so, "cold bore" equals "oily, clean bore" and that is your answer. Don't clean rimfires until accuracy falls off or you get them wet/dirty when hunting.

Golfbuddy45

BBASSI, Hi Eric - GB45 in Apex -