Thread: 223 reloading help

Basic Member

223 reloading help

ive been reloading for a couple of years now and today ran into a issue with my savage 11 rifle in 223 i have some hornady 52gr bthp that my bolt wont close on and are loaded to spec by the manual 2.230 so i pull out my trusty hornady oal measuring kit and pull the length and it tells me my chamber for this bullet is 2.190 at the lands which is well under spec but all my other bullets are fine just the 52 gr i measured with 40 or so different bullets checked diameter hell i even checked the head space on my rifle in general however im having a hard time understanding why the 52 gr comes up so much short of spec and i have alot of room to push out my other bullets to get to the lands

your reload wont chamber. I don't think its the pill.
    If you have a resized unload case from that batch that you've prep,d for the 52,s, see if it chambers
    Life is tuff.....its even tuffer when your stupid
    {John Wayne}

Basic Member
    i tried that as well according to my horandy over all length gauge the listed oal is to long for my chamber and i really dont understand how when the 68 gr bthp the listed oal is the same and they chamber fine.. but the 52 gr measures out 2.190 with the hornady oal gauge im having a issue understanding why is so much shorter than the length listed in the manual the hornady modified case is within spec it chambers the bolt closes i checked everything i think my lack of years in this subject has come back to bite me
    Last edited by vancev; 12-27-2015 at 02:46 PM.

Basic Member
    Just so we are all following each other...

OAL has nothing to do with the ability of the cartridge to chamber. OAL is the length of the cartridge, from tip of bullet to back of case. It's only used to make sure the Cartridge will fit in a magazine.

If you measure from the ogive you will have a better idea of how deep the bullet must be seated into the case without jamming the lands.