Thread: AR trigger pull

Basic Member

AR trigger pull

I am new to the ar game, co worker sold me an olmypic arms plinker in .223.
    What is a good trigger pull for an ar rifle ?
    Right now my scale shows 5 1/2 lbs.
    I usually have my bolt guns right at 3 lbs.
    Thanks
    Let him grow, Shoot a doe !

Team Savage

Re: AR trigger pull

i have 5 ars all varmit rifles all have 1 1/2 lbs jard trigers
    for a plinker 3 lbs would great
    if you need parts i have a closet full

helotaxi

http://www.triggerwork.net/

Contact this guy.

hitman49

Quote Originally Posted by helotaxi
    http://www.triggerwork.net/

Contact this guy.
    +1 for Bill Springfield. He does excellent work.

Basic Member

I'm sure any of the aftermarket triggers are worth the money, but in mine (built with dpms lpk) all I did was to switch out the trigger springs with JP 3.5 lb reduced power springs. If I remember right they were $10 on midway and brought my trigger down from an inconsistent 7.5 to a fairly consistent 4.25 lb. There is still however lots of creep and I have not had any problems with doubling or weak primer strikes. This is just a cheap and easy way to make it tolerable for me, and may be a good, cheap place to start for a plinker. Just my .02 fwiw (maybe only .01).

RWO

I have the Timney 3# Skeletonized in one AR and the JP kit in another. Both give very good, repeatable, safe pulls. They feel nearly the same to me.

RWO

stevec

Iused the JP kit also in 4 AR's I put together and they work fine. As stated, around 4 pounds +/- a few ounces, depending on the diferent trigger components and such. Well worth the 10 bucks!

Steve

Basic Member

Just assembled my first lower last night at work.I noticed it heavy and had tons of creep and really rough and scratchy feeling.