Thread: Blind Mag Box Help

Big Smitty

Blind Mag Box Help

I am in the process of converting a 110 Savage from a 30-06 to a 300 Win Mag. All is going great with the exception of the blind magazine box which is a stagger feed. Does anyone have a quick simple solution for getting the 30-06 box to accept and properly cycle the 300 Win Mag rounds? At this point I can not find a 300 Win Mag box to purchase. Looking for a way to modify the 30-06. Any help or advise appreciated. Thanks!!

I am no expert on the subject, but since I am also having troubles with getting a 338 win mag to feed properly, I have been looking into this issue recently. What I have found, is that according to the parts list on the savage website, the magazine box is the same for the magnum cartridge as it is for the standard 30-06 rounds. It is the follower that is different for the two types or cartridges. The follower is available for purchase from the Savage online parts. I think it is around $9, plus some more for shipping. In my case, the feed lips have been tampered with, so I recently ordered a new magazine box. Waiting to get that part still. So I would say look into getting the right magazine follower, not the box. Hope this helps!

Big Smitty
    Thanks Robo. I have the magnum follower. It helps some in my case, but still not reliable. 3 rounds in the mag and when trying to cycle the first round they all want to come flying out. 2 in the mag to start and the first one wants to bind up when pushing it forward. One only in the mag and it works OK. I typically don't chamber a round until ready to shoot as this is my western hunting rig. Would like to get 3 in the Mag to work reliably. Might have to settle for 2.