Thread: 7mm-08 bullet choice

california shooter

7mm-08 bullet choice

I'm new to reloading and this site, so I'm sorry if this is a redundent post inquiry. I recently picked up two 7mm-08 Savage Weather Warriors for my two sons and after finding factory loads that they like (winchester supreme ballistic silvertips and fusion) I'm trying to work up a hand load for them. Having good luck with IMR 4350 (0.505 five shot group) using Accubond 140 gr., Varget (0.893 five shot group) and still need to try IMR 4064. On top of these combos I am also thinking of trying out 139 gr sst interlocks and this is where my question lies. Although I crave accuracy what is the general cenus among hunters as to which bullet has better terminal affects on shots ranging from 100-200 being the norm and an occational 300 reacher, between the Nosler Accubond 140 gr and Hornady SST 139 gr bullets? Thanks for any input.

Cover Dog

Re: 7mm-08 bullet choice

I posted this here several months ago. Might be of some interest since it was with a 139gr. SST Hornady bullet.

I worked up this load several years ago for a Wy. Antelope/Mule Deer hunt. The gun is a Rem. Mtn. rifle with a very slender barrel. PLEASE BE ADVISED, THIS LOAD IS WARM AND OVER MAX worked fine in my gun but yours may be different. Primers were fine, just a slight extractor mark on a couple of cases all mic'd within specs..

45.2 gr IMR4064, Hornady 139gr SST, CCI 250 primers. Avg. speed 2978, ES 26.6 SD 10.0

Shot was taken at 286 yards. I was aiming just behind the shoulder but the cross wind was stronger then I thought. Bullet entered dead center low on the right shoulder, took out the top 2/3 of the heart and exited off side shoulder. The goat never took a step.

Elkbane