Thread: Silver State Armory Ammo Problem

bigcheese920

Silver State Armory Ammo Problem

I'm new to the whole forums so hello everybody.
    First off last week went out to the range to do some load testing for my new 10T. I picked up a box of SSA 175GR HPBT to shoot as my constant and to site in my scope. I ended up shooting around 10 rounds of SSA and there was no problems. Well yesterday I got a new steel target and I wanted to try it out and when I took the first shot there was smoke everywhere. Wasn't sure what happened and then opened up the bolt and saw that the primer blew out. I called Nosler today to get it settled because I'd rather not shoot the ammo and have something go wrong again. The guy from Nosler blamed me for everything and that it was my guns fault not there's. After I asked to speak to his supervisor he was even more rude saying that it's the old SSA ammo not Noslers. But the ammo has Nosler brass. So what I'm getting at is has Nosler always had terrible customer service and who has gotten a blown out primer and did they ever get it taken care of?

Just because SSA is using Nosler brass to make their ammunition doesn't mean a blown primer is their fault. A blown primer is a high pressure issue, meaning most likely it's a hot load issue. Even when I'm reloading I've yet to have a blown primer in any brand of brass even when a piece has a noticeably loose primer pocket.

The real question didn't you call SSA as the ammo is their product.
    "Life' is tough. It's even tougher if you're stupid." ~ John Wayne
    “Under certain circumstances, 
urgent circumstances, desperate circumstances, profanity provides a relief denied even to prayer.” —Mark Twain

CaptREDD
    Another good reason to load our own...You know who to blame if sumpin is wrong!

REDD
    Last edited by CaptREDD; 05-18-2015 at 03:50 PM. Reason: mis spell

Basic Member
    Nosler bought SSA and SSA no longer exists.

bigcheese920