Thread: Newbie Stevens 200 ?

Basic Member

Newbie Stevens 200 ?

I can purchase a Stevens 200 action with a "4.25" screw spacing and top bolt release. According to what I can find on here that model has the staggered blind magazine. I'd like to purchase a new Boyds stock and convert it to either a hinged floor plate or DBM (not large capacity). It this feasible or should I look for a different action?

Basic Member
    My Stevens 200 is a 4.40" spacing.. I'm not an expert on what models are what, but just be sure to actually measure the spacing yourself so you're sure about what you have...

Options for bottom metal are limited with the stagger feed.

Basic Member
    Honestly, I'd say go elsewhere. I have converted 6 LA s/f blind mags to the old style DBM (has a mag release button in the side of the stock) and it is no easy task. Toughest part is finding the bottom metal. Then I had to do some grinding and cutting of the bottom of the action to make the mag and/or box fit properly. A lot of work. THey turned out really nice, but, honestly, when I was done I did not have anything all that special. Nice, but it would have been so much easier to start with a CF s/a. The only reason I did it was I had found some nice walnut stocks with cut checkering that used the old style DBM and expected it to be an easier task than it tuned out to be. If you can find the bottom metal and mag it might be worth doing, but don't buy the action or rifle first, thinking you will get the other parts later, 'cuz you might never find those parts.

Honestly, I'd say go elsewhere.
    +1.

Basic Member
    The only real way for DBM on a 4.25 action is CDI. Hinged floor plate is pretty much out of the question without serious mods to the action.
    CDI offers their bottom for SF actions. You can have them inlet the stock also and it's free for them to do it.