Thread: New Savage 11/111 Trophy Hunter XP owner

rcastro474

New Savage 11/111 Trophy Hunter XP owner

Hello everyone,
    I am new to the whole bolt gun scene and I just purchased a Savage 11/111 Trophy Hunter XP in .270 WIN. I was curious what options were out there for after market stocks? I know it uses a bottom bolt release and from some research is long action. Any help would be greatly appreciated!
    Thanks

By virtue of being a .270 it is a long action.

Lots of options depending on what you want to do with it. Some like thumb through stocks, some don't. Some like "plastic" to beat up out in the woods. Really need to know what your thinking to give any decent recommendations otherwise your just getting random opinions that may not help you at all.

Something to get you started:
    Midway
    Tactical-Works
    Boyds (they have many colors of laminated inexpensive stocks too)
    Choate
    Amazon

Just eye candy, not recommending any of them.
    Last edited by flyingfrog509; 02-26-2015 at 07:20 PM.

rcastro474
    Quote Originally Posted by flyingfrog509 View Post
    By virtue of being a .270 it is a long action.

Lots of options depending on what you want to do with it. Some like thumb through stocks, some don't. Some like "plastic" to beat up out in the woods. Really need to know what your thinking to give any decent recommendations otherwise your just getting random opinions that may not help you at all.

Something to get you started:
    Midway
    Tactical-Works
    Boyds (they have many colors of laminated inexpensive stocks too)
    Choate
    Amazon

Just eye candy, not recommending any of them.
    I am looking to use the gun for hunting so weight is important but I also dont like thr flimsy plastic one that it comes with.

rcastro474
    Im liking the look of the Boyd's Pro Varmint stock, does anyone have any experience using it?

Basic Member
    Yep, used to be called the Tacticool. Very popular here.

rcastro474