Thread: bump the shoulder?

vc5013

bump the shoulder?

Hello I am reloading 6.5 creedmoor match ammo for tac. Precision shooting 400-1400yrds. I have been reloading my 308 ammo for a couple years. I have always neck sized with a neck sizing die once shot from my barrel. I have heard tons of people say you should size with a fls die and just bump the shoulder. I have researched and youtubed but everyone says or shows you adjust slowly until your bolt closes then measure about .002 the question I have is my bolt closes just fine with fired brass from my barrel. I have a model 10p with a shilen select match barrel and using hornady match brass.
    Last edited by vc5013; 02-16-2015 at 03:05 AM.

Not sure where you got the .200 measurement but that is not even close. On the bright side if you bolt closes with ease you have no issues. When the time comes you can use a full length sizer or a shoulder bump die to move the shoulder back .002". You will need to measure that dimension with a tool/gauge designed for that so you have a reference.

vc5013
    But if my bolt closes with ease what is my reference point? What is my end goal and how do I know when I'm there? I've seen the hornady gauge used for this application but it seems the end goal is for the bolt to close and the gauge tells you what that measurement was for repeatability. How do I know when my shoulder is where I want it? Any help on this would be greatly appreciated.

vc5013
    Just noticed the .200, sorry meant .002.

bump the shoulder?