Thread: Plan for F/TR, newb needs help please

VALKRIDER

Plan for F/TR, newb needs help please

Hello all,new to the forums and looking for some sage advice from Savage F class shooters. Presently I shoot NRA Highpower XTC and CMP games matches. I've decided to get into F/TR. At first I was going to buy a Savage F/TR .308 but have shelved that idea. My plan now is to buy a Savage LRP in the HS stock and replace the barrel, nut and recoil lug.Of the calibers the LRP comes in, which do you think would be the easiest to resell the original barrel,.243,.260 or 6.5?Do the target actions generally require trueing etc. ? I'm looking at the Sinclair Gen.III bipod and any opinions on it would be appreciated. If I'm making any mistakes here please sound off as I'm completely new to Savage rifles and don't want to make a major screw up.Thanks for your help.

LongRange
    i think any of the above will sell with no problem but id say the 6.5CM. no input on the genIII other than they get mixed reviews,some love them some say they are hard to load as they want to slide and cheek weld is hard to get use to...IMHO if your going to spend $250+ on a front rest spend a couple hundred more and get one of the best front rests.personally i shoot off a harris and a sock full of rice in our F-open matches.

VALKRIDER
    Thanks for the response.

Berger.Fan222
    A friend just bought the Model 12 F-T/R in .223 and is reporting excellent groups. With Savage rifles, I would buy the caliber you want and try it before switching a barrel. Many times you will have all the accuracy you want straight from the factory. I have been pleasantly surprised every time I have seen a new Savage shoot.

LongRange
    i think he is kinda set on the LPR which isnt offered in 308.