Thread: Coyote turkey calling question

Coyote turkey calling question

Long story short have any of you that hunt had any consistent luck calling in Yotes with a turkey call. The back ground I was hunting last week with my brother I started playing with my turkey call and a tom I didn't know was around answered so I messed with him for 15 minutes or so until I heard my brother shoot. He said the pair of yotes came across him on a mission heading straight for my stand. So was it just that once in a while thing that they will check something out or can you use it with any consistency and did it help that I had a turkey responding? I have never had any luck with rabbit distress calls.

Josh's Yote:

Last edited by tufrthnails; 12-20-2014 at 08:57 PM.
    [QUOTE=fgw_in_fla;256183]We told you so...[/QUOTE]

Basic Member
    They prefer to come to turkey calls right before or on Thanksgiving day !
    Actually I do not use turkey calls for coyote hunting, but I have, and many others I know, have called coyotes in while spring turkey hunting.
    So, they do respond to turkey calls.
    If you called in one, try it again.
    Good luck !
    Let him grow, Shoot a doe !

It works on bobcats too. My old predator hunting buddy had a bobcat land on him while turkey hunting and calling turkeys. He never even knew it was there until it was in the air and he turned to the movement. As he turned, the cat knew he'd been had, and started backpedaling in mid air. Cat landed on my buddy, knocking him to the ground and knocking the wind out of him. He got clawed up somewhat as the cat did a burn out on him trying to get away. We laughed about it much later, but at the time, it was scary as hell, and we had to take him in to Payson to the clinic to get stitches on his back, side and arm. He was battered and bruised but nothing was broken.