Thread: Article: Frankford Arsenal Platimum Series Rotary Tumbler

Article: Frankford Arsenal Platimum Series Rotary Tumbler

"Life' is tough. It's even tougher if you're stupid." ~ John Wayne
    “Under certain circumstances, 
urgent circumstances, desperate circumstances, profanity provides a relief denied even to prayer.” —Mark Twain

gruising

Stainless Pin tumbling

Hi, I have been using stainless steel pins for about two years to clean my brass. I reload for several people so I have a lot of brass. Over the years I have used about every way there is to clean my brass. At this time I have a walnut shell/rouge tumbler, a two gallon ultrasonic cleaner and two different pin tumblers. Hands down, the pins are the best. The ultrasonic works too good and the brass will tarnish almost as fast as you can dry it. First thing I learned with the pins is to do a pre-wash with a bit of dish soap in a bucket to remove most of the sizing lube, otherwise it is transferred to the pins. I just use warm water and Dawn and hand stir them then rinse. Into my home made tumbler with a very small amount of Hornady "one shot" cleaner. I do mean a small amount. I use one teaspoon to 200 or 300, .308 cases. This keeps the foaming down. I will tumble them for three or four hours and they are better than new. My biggest problem has been separating the brass and pins without spilling pins everywhere. At this time I dump them in a 1/4" wire mesh basket in a kitty litter tray with water in it and shake it a bit to leave the pins in the tray. It would seem to me that the Frankford unit has solved that for the most part with the strainer end caps and a bucket. Use cold water to prevent tarnish and air dry on a large towel. Heated drying is faster but will tarnish the cases. I just use a small fan and they are dry in a couple of hours. Gary