Thread: Thoughts on Axis/Edge 7mm-08

GreybeardGunner

Thoughts on Axis/Edge 7mm-08

Hello Everyone:

So - what (if any) differences are there between a Savage Axis and a Savage Edge? I'm thinking of trading my 30.30 Marlin for a Savage Edge 7mm-08, but I have no knowledge of this caliber. How is it for deer hunting? Does anyone have any gems of knowlege or experience for me? I appreciate the help.

Regards, Shawn

Basic Member
    I think you will find that the 7mm-08 is a wonderful hunting cartridge. It will put down everything in North America that I can think of.

Basic Member
    The Edge and the Axis are identical. Savage changed the name over copyright issues. The 7-08 is obviously a .308 case necked to 7mm. The Savage 11 that I own shoots well with bullets up to 140 grains in the 1-11.5 twist barrel. Savage later went to a 1-9.5 barrel which will shoot heavy bullets. My favorite bullets are the Nosler 120 grain BT and the Hornady 139 IL. The 7-08 is an overachiever. Looking at paper ballistics it might not impress, but in the field it is a very fine, light recoiling round.

Basic Member
    7-08 will be flatter shooting at more yardage. In the 100-150 yard range I think you'll get more energy or thump. But the 30-30 drops so fast past 200 yards its mostly good for brush hunting

Basic Member
    I meant you would get more energy out of 30-30 at 100-200 yards

The Edge is an econo rifle plain and simple. It is designed to get someone in the woods on the cheap and fills a market for those that may not normally hunt or that does so infrequently and just want's a cheap rifle. The Axis/ Edge series need a good bit of work to be on par with the standard 10/110 series of Savages. In my opinion and though your Marlin is a lever action I'm pretty sure most would agree that it is of much better quality, materials, design and workmanship than and Edge/Axis.