Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: What makes a rifle accurate?

Basic Member

What makes a rifle accurate?

Sounds like a weird question, but I am new to rifle shooting and bought a Savage 11/111 Trophy Hunter in 223 thinking I just wanted to have fun putting holes in paper and plinking. Turns out I have gotten into reloading, and have really enjoyed the shooting and the quest for the 1 hole groups. I am still playing with developing the right load and have managed sub MOA groups, but I am having a hard time getting under 1/2 inch at 100 yards.

Is it possible to get sub 1/2 MOA from a factory rifle? If I get a new barrel will it completely improve my accuracy? or does the accuracy come from the action itself? if it comes from the action, is a factory mass produced action machined well enough to be really accurate? I would hate to buy a new barrel and find out that the action is not machined well enough to be consistent, so I can never get the accuracy I want.

Ultimate question, can I make this rifle shoot the way I want, or do I need to start all over? If I can make it shoot the way I want, how? If I need to start all over, suggestions?

Basic Member
    You may be able to get under 1/2 moa with a factory hunting rifle.
    Where does accuracy come from, I would say it's the barrel, action, stock, trigger, scope base, scope rings, scope and bullets, (brass, primers, powder, projectiles and seating depth +). I'm sure I missed something.

You have to ask, how far am I willing to go to achive my goal?

Basic Member
    all that, plus the rest and shooter.

Basic Member