Thread: Savage 10p Stock

scrtsqrl

Savage 10p Stock

I am brand new to the savage game and all of their numbers and stuff. I was pretty much sold on buying a remington 700 varmint heavy barrel but then I would have to buy a detachable magazine, a timney trigger, a new stock, get the barrel threaded, and that was a whole lot of money that I was not "allowed" to spend so I bought a savage 10p with accutriger, 20 inch threaded heavy barrel, and detachable magazine and it was about a 130 dollars cheaper than the remington 700 I was looking at.

I have done a lot of reading and savage does not make it easy trying figure out all of the numbers and the non-sense. I went ahead and bought a short action 20 moa scope mount for it. I know that I need to replace the stock. I am having a hard time finding an after market stock. I have felt the choate ultimate varmint and love it but I can not find one with a detachable magazine. I am pretty much open to any suggestions for a stock that is under 300 and has a pistol grip or thumb hole stock. Any help would be appreciated.

Basic Member
    Try Boyd's gun stocks,I have three of their thumbhole stocks and really like them.
    Ya'll hang on I'm gonna drive closer

Basic Member
    Shoot it like it is! Forget the "need a different stock" and you'll be fine.

Quote Originally Posted by scrtsqrl View Post

1)I have done a lot of reading and savage does not make it easy trying figure out all of the numbers and the non-sense.
    2)I went ahead and bought a short action 20 moa scope mount for it.
    3)I know that I need to replace the stock.
    4)I am having a hard time finding an after market stock. .
    1) Read the Centerfire FAQ about actions. The numbers really are all the same, just action bolt spacing.