Thread: forster co ax press

LongRange

forster co ax press

Are any of you guys using this press?
    im thinking about up grading from my redding big boss 2 and looking for real world user reviews. Ive read all the reviews but they can be deceiving.

My Son got me one for Christmas about 4 years ago and I would not give it up for anything . I have been loading since 1965 and used about 6 different presses. I have a lot of trouble with old Arthritis and thought I was going to have too give up loading until I got it.

dcloco
    I am in the same boat as bythebook. No other single stage press than the Coax - period.

Basic Member
    Been using one as my main single-stage press for 20 years. Some features I like: Once you get the dies set, you can swap them out in a few seconds. The spent primers exit in a way that keeps the press clean. I use the same set of shellholder jaws for everything from 223 to 480 ruger. I'm left-handed, and the operation of the press is symmetric.

A couple of things you should know:
    1. The priming setup is pretty worthless. Get a hand primer.
    2. If you have RCBS or Redding dies, you will want a supply of Forster or Hornady lock rings. The RCBS/Redding rings are too thin and too small in diameter to work well with the Co-Ax die slot.
    3. Extremely long dies, like a benchrest/micrometer seating die for a magnum length (3.6") cartridge, may be too high to clear the stirrup-shaped void in the handle. For that reason I have a Redding Boss still sitting around.

Please ask if you have any questions.

Kevin

Vince
    I switched to a Coax press from a Lee Breechlock and couldn't be happier.