Thread: Help findng 223 rem bolt head , front bolt baffle, extractor

Help findng 223 rem bolt head , front bolt baffle, extractor

I just ordered a prefit SS match 223 rem varmint barrel and recoil lug and barrel nut from Jim at Northland Shooter Supply, they are in stock so I will receive them a few days. This is my first time switching barrels. I'm converting my 10 FCP 308 win to a 223 rem. Jim said that I will also need a 223 rem bolt head, a front bolt baffle, and extractor, and ejector, and mag box or a follower. I called Pacific Tool, they don't stock the 223 rem bolt head, it will be aprox a month for delivery. They also don't carry the baffle , ejector or the extractor. I checked a few places and the bolt heads are out of stock. Does anyone know where I can find the items that I need to complete this barrel switch ?

Team Savage
    Check with Gun Shack

Thanks drybean, I called Gun Shack and ordered the bolt head and the front bolt baffle, they will ship in the next day or so. I guess I can use the extractor and the ejector from the 308 bolt head. I still need to find a follower or mag box. I'm going to call Savage in the morning to see if they have them in stock.

Basic Member
    Lefty i know the ejector is the same and i believe the extractor is the same now. I could be wrong but i think they used to be a bit longer a few years ago and the went to basically a universal extractor.
    "And you shall know the truth, and the truth shall make you free.” John 8:32 (New King James Version)

Basic Member
    Quote Originally Posted by Lefty View Post