Thread: Confused about ogive...need help

Basic Member

Confused about ogive...need help

I am still fairly new to reloading, and thought I had a handle on ogive, but I guess not...

Background: Savage 11/111 Trophy Hunter XP in .223, Nosler 69gr CC bullets. The brass I normally use is being tumbled, so I used some Federal American Eagle brass that I have resized and fired a couple times in my AR. I full length sized the brass and it is a little shorter than trim to. I grouped it by length, and ended up loading a group of 1.746 length.

I used a Hornady OAL tool and measured with a ogive tool to 1.971. I decided to load 3 4-shot groups at ogive length 1.941, and 3 4-shot groups at ogive length 1.891. When I got to the range, many of the rounds would not chamber in my gun. Many of the 1st batch were 1.941 - 1.943. However, 4 of the rounds were 1.939. Of those 4, 2 would chamber and 2 would not. In the other group, I grabbed 2 rounds and both measured ogive of 1.889. Again, one will chamber and one will not.

I am thoroughly perplexed by this. What could be causing this? How can I have a round chamber, and another round with the shorter ogive length not chamber?

Basic Member
    The brass needs to be resized. The bullet should not prevent the cart from chambering. If the bullet is seated in the case too long it will either get pushed deeper into the case by the rifling or it will simply push into the lands or both.

To confirm whether the brass needs full length resizing or , at least, shoulder bumped back, try chambering the brass without a bullet in it and see if it will or not. My guess is the bullet is not the issue.