Thread: Barrel break-in

mchef

Barrel break-in

I have a new 116 FLHSS in .270. I am new to firearms so please excuse my ignorance.

I have read and found a wide range of opinions about how to break in a barrel. Some say just shoot, others say do multiple one shot and clean cycles. Some have you shooting upwards of 50 - 100 rounds, others about 20. Some have commented that it's a ploy to sell more barrels. I have read the FAQ on the savage site about barrel break-in, and the wording is very particular. It does not say Savage Arms recommends a specific break-in, but just quotes the procedure from the magazine. Regarding that, the last step states, "They recommend the use of a patch with 2 drops of oil after the cleaning so that you are not shooting with a dry bore." Many other procedures I've read say to make sure the bore is dry and not oiled. Can anyone offer any definitive info on this topic?

Also, regarding cleaning, I have read a lot about the proper way to clean a rifle and one thing I have found is much talk about keeping chemicals, solvents, oil, etc out of the action. I have not found anything on how to actually clean the action, nor what to do if you accidentally get any of these chemicals into the action.

Wes_VB

Re: Barrel break-in

Ahh the confusion and multitude of opinions on barrel break in. As you have discovered there is no definitive answer. Everything is just an opnion or personal preferrence.
    Myself? Until the 12 F/TR I had never wasted the time, ammo or barrel life by breaking in a barrel.
    However, the bore on that one looked like it could benefit from some seasoning. If for no other reason than to cut down on the amount of copper it collects.
    American Rifleman had an article a few months back and it still didn't have a definitive answer although it did tend to lean towards it is very hard to quantify any benefit of doing it.