Thread: Question on scope eye relief vs ring position on mounts

Basic Member

Question on scope eye relief vs ring position on mounts

Thanks for looking. I'm new to the world of using scopes. Got a lot to learn and this is an example.

Recently bought a Savage Model 10P, SWFA SS 10 x 42 Scope, SWFA medium rings, and EGW one piece mount.

Been told the way to position the scope is to have the scope loosely mounted in the rings, close your eyes, bring the rifle into shooting position and then open you eyes. If the scope is at the right eye relief, you should get a good sight picture without having to move your head.

Did that and ended up with the scope in the position shown below.

In other threads, I notice most of the rear rings are positioned further rearward, just over the rear receiver. My rear ring is mounted about two inches forward of that. In order to place the scope at the proper eye relief, that is where my scope needs to be and that forces the rear ring to be forward.

Is something wrong with this?

Thanks a million for sharing your advice and wisdom.

Basic Member
    That does seem a little far to the front but if that's what is comfortable for you for eye relief then leave it.

Basic Member
    Can you take a picture of the rifle showing the butt stock. I'm wondering wear your cheek weld is and if maybe you need to build up on the stock to raise your head higher instead of stretching far forward to see through the scope.

Make sure your head/neck is is upright and not stretching forward to see through the scope. Other things to think about, are you setting up to shoot off a bench or from the prone? Use the position you intend to shoot from the most to determine your eye relief.

Last thing is Length of pull (measurement from trigger to end of buttstock) If you are tall like me (6'5'') you may need as much as 15". Make sure you are as comfortable as possible behind the scope when setting it up.