Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: 260 Rem Build Troubles

HuntnID

260 Rem Build Troubles

So I have put together a 260 Rem with a Pac-Nor 28" Barrel. I have the Bell and Carlson Duramaxx stock with a Vortex Crossfire 6-26x50. I'm having some big time troubles with it. I have done a break-in process and now I have began trying to shoot groups. I was shooting 130 Grain Berger VLDs with 39 grains of IMR 4350. The gun would shoot a couple shots into the bullseye touching, and then shoot one 4 inches high, and then 2 inches right. Then it would come back and be on for a couple shots. I am very new to this. From what I can tell, my recoil lug is making solid contact with the stock and my barrel is completely floated. Anybody else ever experienced this?

pa hog

Re: 260 Rem Build Troubles

Check your front scope base, Check to see if the Front screw is'nt bottoming out on the barrel threads.
    Other than that maybe a scope problem, Action Screws snugged up good? Check everything that's got threads.

HuntnID

Everything is tight. I tore it apart today and checked all of the screws. I don't have a torque wrench but I've got the action screws pretty darn tight. I have been looking at the recoil lug and it seems like it doesn't make really tight contact on the top like it does on the bottom. Could this be a problem? If I had re-barreled to a magnum, I would've switched the lugs but I didn't know how important it was with a light caliber such as the 260.

McKinneyMike

Do you have a spare scope to try? I would think that your recoil lug should be tight and flush at the back.

HuntnID

I'm going to give a new scope a try. I really hope it's not the scope. I really do like these Vortex optics.

McKinneyMike

Sometimes these things happen. Vortex is a great company with lifetime warranty on their scopes. Don't give up on them, if this is a bad scope. It happens sometimes. If it is the scope, they will take care of you.

HuntnID