Thread: First shots with my Axis 30-06

kenochs

Talking First shots with my Axis 30-06

I'm new to Savage rifles. The selection of left-handed bolt actions is rather limited, and for a guy on a budget, I decided on the Axis.

After spending 2 weeks in the factory box in my spare room, I finally had a chance to break out my new lefty 30-06. Woohoo!!

I got set up and took some shots at 50, 75, and 100 yards. Due to a cheap, piece o' sh!t scope (names have been removed to protect the guilty), I first was cursing my new rifle. Fortunately, I was able to borrow my uncle's Nikon, and it was smooth sailing from there. Nice tight groupings, and not too much kick. It was a joy to shoot.

I'm officially a Savage fan! :)

Basic Member
    Congrats and Welcome to the addiction :)

n4ue
    Kenochs. +1 on the congrats.
    I'll bet that '06 kicks pretty good. As I age, I don't enjoy recoil like I did when I was a pup.
    Even my Axis 7-08 had weight added to it, to make bench shooting more enjoyable. As a hunting rifle, I never used to feel the recoil from my Rem 700 ADL ('06) while deer hunting...
    have fun,
    ron

kenochs
    Thanks guys.

I was actually pretty pleased at the recoil, it was not what I was expecting. My dad has an older Remington (no idea the model). It kicks like a mule.

I do find the stock to be a little light. Perhaps down the road, may consider swapping in a heavier stock.

With the wide availability of aftermarket stocks most people are now opting for those for their axis rifles. Since I did several "SD" (stock dysfunction) jobs on my Axis rifles' OEM stocks, I actually came to like the performance of my mods which included a filled buttstock section and recoil pillar. My rifles shoot GREAT with these mods--so much so I did the same to my 111 hunter in 300 win mag.
    [B][COLOR="#FF8C00"]Shooting--it's like high-speed golf[/COLOR][/B]

kenochs
    Quote Originally Posted by thermaler View Post