Thread: Summer coyotes

Luke45

Summer coyotes

theres a pack of 6-8 coyotes that moved into my deer hunting spot, ive spotted them at 1000+ yards multiple times while scouting and they wont come into rabbit calls. they arent spooked, they just dong care one single bit. Ive barely missed 2 at long range, one at 600(shot over back) and 800 yards(shot between legs). they didnt even care when the rifle went off i dont think they even knew i was there.

how the heck do you call summer time yotes? ive killed alot of wintertime and sprink coyotes with distress and howls, but summer time i have no experience and my winter/spring tactics dont work

anybody? i need to kill them before deer season

Basic Member
    get a 308 or better and a range finder. Practice shooting at longer range! I'd like to visit Wyoming one day!

Luke45
    man i have a 243 and a 280AI that shoot lights out on long range paper from a bench. shooting a 7" tall coyote on cold bore that never stops moving, and cant get a perfect range reading on as their hopping throgh the brush is extreamly difficult. id rather get them closer and have a 100% shot to kill and not educate them or spook the deer

Basic Member
    Understand, I would sure like to take a crack at it. Maybe you can set up closer and let them come to you?

Luke45
    i had the same thoghts as you at first! then i shot about an inch over one back at 600 becasue in the time that i ranged it to the time i fired it moved closer, and then at 800 right between the legs just maybe 2" low. I dont like missing haha. and everytime you miss a coyote they get smarter!