Thread: deep seat amax?

Basic Member

deep seat amax?

I'm new to rifle reloading so have been reading as much information/disinformation as I can.

Worked out a decent hunting load 308/165gr Nosler pt spitzers in RP brass. But they are too spendy to chase paper with.

So picked up some 168gr amax bullets less then half the price. So while "studying" the amax I ran across expert advice.on seating these deep instead of jumping out to just off the lands. I'm loading these in once fired WW brass so capacity is not going to be an issue. Once I have a charge worked up seating just off the lands is it likely to be worthwhile to seat a few at.the base of the shoulders and see if there's room for improvement?

Basic Member
    From jammed into the lands to as far back as you can go, information can be gained! :))

Edit....but since you are new to reloading, concentrate on the basics first...start with book coal. Be safe. Then take a step up to a little more advanced reloading by playing with seating depth. Changing seating depth can change pressures, up and down. The safe way to do it is start at the bottom and work back up again, looking for pressure signs along the way.

Good Luck.....Good Reloading :))........Jim
    Last edited by FW Conch; 06-02-2014 at 01:26 PM.

Basic Member
    Thanks Jim. I'm still playing with these. Wish I had enough RP brass for these too. The ww stuff and different bullets are more of a challenge then I had anticipated! I got to .33 with the hunting bullets so easily. These I'm struggling to get under .5 but I was interupted and had to rush the last round of testing.

Basic Member
    Re: Starting at book coal.