Thread: New stock and muzzle brake for my .308 Hog Hunter.

NoDealin

New stock and muzzle brake for my .308 Hog Hunter.

Hi everyone,
    For those of you out there that own hog hunters: I just purchased my first Savage, a 11/111 hog hunter. I love everything about it, except the factory stock. I have searched for options on replacement stocks, and a muzzle brake. Any suggestions? Also, pics would be nice if you have them.... Keep in mind this gun will be used primarily for Target shooting, but may occasionally be used to hunt deer.

NoDealin
    FYI, if it's not obvious, I am a noob,and may be prone to asking a dumb question.... I apologize in Advance if I ask dumb question...

Basic Member
    I put mine in a Boyds "Tacticool". About $100 and very popular with Savage guys. Mine is wood composite with some sort of black, heavy duty paint. Other styles are available.

I would also recommend you bed and pillar it. Not difficult, and pretty inexpensive if you do it yourself. ($30?)

Don't know anything about brakes.

Basic Member
    If you do go the Boyd's route, you'll need to know what model you have, in generic, technical terms. They don't list a stock for the "Hog Hunter". Instead, it is this:

"Savage Short Action, center feed, top bolt release". Currently, the stock foream is not inletted for a heavy barrel, like the Hog Hunter. You would have to get the "factory sporter contour barrel contour" and then open it up yourself with sandpaper and a wooden dowel or deep socket. It isn't hard to do, just necessary.

Basic Member
    If you want something really nice, check out Sharp Shooter Supply for target stocks.

Take a look at Ross Schuler muzzle brakes....best muzzle brake I have ever used!

Have the DPMS on my .308 and it works well.

http://www.midwayusa.com/product/910...eel-parkerized
    Last edited by wbm; 05-25-2014 at 02:01 PM.

Basic Member