Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: What happened 22-250!

stewart3

What happened 22-250!

punched a primer today. I'm a hand loading rookie but, I've read a lot and have a mentor. My charge is no where near max, brass is middle of the road and only fired twice. I've been methodical about prep and measurements. Bolt stuck, primer gone, case stuck what the f*** happened!

Basic Member
    Have you used that same bottle of powder before? Maybe it has been tampered with?

Is there a chance you had some other powder mixed into that load somehow?

Was the bullet seated long and therefore jammed into the lands? (not likely to cause it, but grasping at straws, anyways).

stewart3
    I only keep one keg of powder on the bench at once. Also, all I have is 5lbs of powder all unopened except the one I've been working with. The federal brass I switched to seems to have slightly large primer pockets for the Winchester primers I have.

Basic Member
    I may be wrong, but a blown primer due to loose pockets will not cause a stuck bolt. The bolt would only stick if the load was too hot. ???

Varget? I have some that seems to be much hotter than what others report to have used in the past.

Basic Member
    Do you weigh each load or rely on accurate measure from your measurer/dispenser? I'm guessing most people don't weigh every load, but I do.

stewart3
    This factory tube likes 38.5 of cfe max is 39.2 and I've worked up to max with no pressure signs. Would have gone hotter but, had best groupings with aforementioned charge. This one likes a little jump so, I had 20rnds of different lengths trying to dial it in and then failure.

stewart3
    I measure each load on a rcbs 10/10.

Basic Member
    I don't know... Forget about it.

Basic Member
    I had the exact same thing happen with my Stevens 200 in 22-250 when I used CFE 223.... I pulled all mine after that one round and went back to H380....
    MOAON AABE