Thread: Question on rifle scope mounting: Steel or aluminum base/rings?

ezmiraldo

Question on rifle scope mounting: Steel or aluminum base/rings?

Hi guys! Is there any real-world difference between having "steel" base/rings and having "aluminum" base/rings? When is steel better than aluminum? How big is the actual difference? When is aluminum better than steel? How big is that difference?

Sorry, I'm a total newb when it comes to optics issues, and my questions are probably really dumb...

I want to shoot targets to about 1000 yards, and hunt out to perhaps 500-600 yards max. I want to have a rigid optics rig that can withstand some inevitable real-life abuse (such as accidental bumping of the scope on a tree, perhaps accidental drop of the rifle on the ground, firing recoil). FYI, I'm shooting savage trophy hunter 111 in 30-06, and have 6x46 SWFA SS scope.

Thanks in advance!

Savage6x284
    I've had many sets of the Talley LW's which are aluminum but by far my favorite scope mounts are those offered by S&K which are steel.

A good high quality aluminum mount is fine as far as strength goes but aluminum mounts are invariably bulkier than steel ones. Purely cosmetic but sleek good looks are a very nice bonus for using the superb S&K's.

thomae
    In the real world, at least to me (I don't operate in any extreme environments or conditions) I don't think it makes much of a difference. Nothing I can notice on target.

ezmiraldo
    Thanks guys! I am thinking of putting single-piece aluminum base and aluminum 6-hole rings from Weaver Co. How is the quality of their products? They appear very affordable - I can get both the rings and the base for about $60 total.
    Last edited by ezmiraldo; 03-29-2014 at 10:08 AM.

Basic Member
    The aluminum base will work just fine. For decades one of the most popular setups were cheap little weaver aluminum bases.