Thread: Am I just blind?

Am I just blind?

Or is there no search function for this forum? I am new to shooting longish distances with anything other then the rifles I handled and worked on in the Army, but I finally have access to property to shoot up to 450 yards and would like to start streching my 111 in .270 out. Here in Florida my local ranges are 55 and 100 yards, which is plenty for 99% of hunting in Florida, but I have started to hunt North of here Tennessee (hopefully this winter) and Kentucky (definitely again this winter) and the shots are there to shoot much further, but I have been limiting my self to 200 yard marking points with my range finder and building a range card for quick assessment of distance. I was looking for some instruction on mouting a scope properly on here. You guys speak of something called lapping (new to me). I got fairly good and shooting my M4 out to 600 meters with my ACOG just using hold over method but I put many, many, many of the .govs unlimited ammo down range in theater.
    [QUOTE=fgw_in_fla;256183]We told you so...[/QUOTE]

Basic Member
    Right where I Always Need To Be. Usually...
    Upper right hand corner of your screen...
    Follow the thick blue bar with "Savage Shooters" on it to your right. Look at the bottom of the thick blue bar when you get to the right side.

The little rectangular white looking slot is your search function.

Happy searching, hunting, scope mounting, shooting over 200yds, etc....
    'Scuse me while I whip this out...!

Basic Member
    Hey, by the way...
    Get on Bing (or if you prefer google) and look up scope mounting / ring lapping. Peruse the video section & I'm sure you'll find enough you tube vids to become a professional ring lapper.

Good luck.

Midway has videos on lapping.
    "An armed society is a polite society"
    "...shall not be infringed" What's the confusion?

Basic Member
    Also remember the old cliche, "ignorance can be blissfull".