Thread: Bullet spec. verse barrel spec.?

Slapp

Bullet spec. verse barrel spec.?

Let me start by saying I am new to the whole reloading deal and I think I overloaded myself with information.
    My question is this; I ordered some Hornady 168gr Amax bullets to reload some once fired (from my rifle) brass, plan on using cci large primers, Varget powder. The main question is the Amax bullets say on the box "recomended for 1 in 12 twist or faster and my rifle is a 1 in 10 twist? Affects...does it matter... what do you think? I plan on F/TR class out to 600-800 yards or better once I learn more and do some matches.
    Last edited by thomae; 01-11-2014 at 02:48 PM. Reason: Fixed title: Spec. is short for Specification. Speck is a spot of dirt. :^)

Basic Member
    Your twist is faster.

pitsnipe
    Also can look at it as "tighter" One full revolution of the bullet per 10 inches. Versus, one full revolution of the bullet per 12 inches. The smaller the number, the more stable/aerodynamic a larger/heavier bullet will be. This in perspective with its caliber of course. But a 1 in 10 .30 caliber barrel can better stabilize a 200 grain bullet than a 1 in 12 can. Out to 800 you should consider a 175 grain vs the 168. It will buck any wind better due to its higher BC.
    Good luck in your match's.

Snipe

roger that on all the above.
    the heavier the bullet, the closer/tighter the twist...the lighter the bullet the longer the twist.
    dont know your twist or lenght of barrel but a buddy of mine worked up an accurate load using 168 a-max and 42.6grs of tac for his model 10 24"...1/10 proved worthy
    Life is tuff.....its even tuffer when your stupid
    {John Wayne}

Basic Member