Thread: Stocks?

varanid

Stocks?

I know Boyds has started making replacement stocks, but was wondering if there were other options? I was given a Savage Axis for Christmas and it seems like a good shooter but I *hate* the stock and would like to replace it.

Also, has anyone used the Boyd's stocks yet? I know they're recent, would love some reviews from users....

varanid
    $225? Owch.
    I'm leaning towards a Nikon Prostaff or Buckmaster, either the 3-9 or 4-12 (not sure yet) as far as scopes and want to add a bipod to help with stability. I'm down with spending 100-150 on a stock if it's good but 225 is a bit high, particularly coupled with the other stuff I need to buy for it. With a 90 dollar trigger and a 225 dollar stock I'd be most of the way to like a 110 or something.

Also, I'm new to rifles; how hard is it to replace a stock?

rsh4364
    Boyds has a vid. on there sight,looks very easy,my Boyds should be here Monday gonna do my .223 and .308.

kirk2022
    I have A Prairie Hunter for my Axis 223, And A thumbhole for my Marlin 60. Myself I am very happy with both of them. I had to open up the bolt release slot just A small bit for it to release all the way on the Axis stock. The Marlin stock was A drop in and shoot. Check A couple posts down and you will find A lot of info on stocks

varanid
    If I replace the stock would it basically need to be resighted? With as backordered as the Boyd's are I'm debating buying and zeroing in a new scope while I wait for them to get in stock, but if I'd have to totally redo it after replacing the stock I might as well save my ammo...

rsh4364
    Read the posts 6 down from this one,should get your ?s answered.ordered 2 axis stocks and 1 for 17hmr on 12-19-13 all shipped 12-23-13...

kirk2022
    When you mount the scope it will be bore sighted to the barrel. The action and barrel will still be floated in the new stock. Any scope adjustment will be very minor, 1 group and you should be good to go.

steveNChunter