Thread: Left handed action for right eyed shooters?

Maxxwell86

Left handed action for right eyed shooters?

First off let me say I am cross eye dominant. Left handed and right eyed. I have been shooting right handed for 50 years even in competition so I have no problem with it, but have been thinking about experimenting.

Any right eyed lefties (not the political kind) out there who have tried shooting a left hand action? It can't be all that different than a dual ported, left load, right eject can it?

I'm sure everybody has an opinion but I would like to hear from you lefties who have actually tried this. What are the pros and cons you have experienced?

Basic Member
    If you want a rough idea, just get on the other side of your right handed gun and cycle it a coupla times. It would be about the same scenario only a mirror image. I tried to shoot a left bolt gun right handed once to see for myself......it didn't work for me.
    "As long as there's lead in the air....there's still hope.."

Basic Member
    Been shooting leftie and rightie actions since i was a kid. It's not that big of a deal. I am also lefthanded and right eye dominant
    There are 3 kinds of people in this world. Those who can do math and those who can't

thomae
    I have taught folks who were right handed and left eye dominant. I encourage them to use, and they seem to work well with, left handed rifles. It is far easier to teach your muscles to adapt to an off-side rifle than it is to get your eye to switch dominance.

I knew one fellow who had the strangest rifle hold: He shot a right handed rifle but leaned his head way over and used his left eye through the scope. I don't know how he did it, and not get scope eye.

That said, if shooting competition where an eye patch is allowed, covering the eye that is not looking through the sights solves the problem. The only issue is that it is not very practical when hunting.

pitsnipe