Thread: Scope for model 11 Lightweight Hunter

Basic Member

Scope for model 11 Lightweight Hunter

Hi guys. I'm looking for a scope for a model 11 lightweight hunter. This specialties series has a featherlight barrel, and should be able to accommodate a larger objective(I think).

Anyway, I'm not very experienced in high end scopes. This is my first centerfire, and lost likely will be my only one for a long time. It's chambered in .243 winchester, and Savage states 1.5" groups or better at 100 yards.

Since this is a thin barrel, and heats up rather quickly, I won't be shooting much with it at the bench. Ideally, I'd like to shoot 10-20 rounds with it at the range once every month or so, it'll mainly be my hunting rig.

My background with scopes is mainly Leapers/UTG, Center Point, and Hawke. I consider these popular air gun scopes, as they are budget friendly and have nice features such as 16x max zoom, side parallax adjustment, 30mm tube, and large objective lens.

I enjoy shooting my .25 cal Marauder out to 100 yards with the Leapers 4-16x56. I get a decent 2" spread at that range.

Now that I have the .243, I'd like to reach out a bit further, possibly 300-400 yards for deer sized game. If I can get 1-5" or better like Savage says, I should be at most 6" at 400 yards, if I do my part. That's the goal anyway.

Keeping with the lightweight theme, are there any scopes that you would recommend that would be ideal for this range and is lightweight? Adjustable objective would be ideal because most of my targets would be actually less than 100 yards. I do favor high power scopes such as 16x or more, but that may be because of the lower quality scopes I'm used to using, and having the reticle thick. If I can find a super thin reticle, I think I could manage with a lesser power scope when I'm punching paper at the range or going for pin point shots. At 1.5"@100 yards, I won't really NEED it, but if this rifle happen to cloverleaf at 100, then yes.