Thread: First semi-custom build

GOODWIN

First semi-custom build

Another new guy here needing advice...imagine that. Just acquired a model 111 in 7mm Rem mag with DBM that I'm using for my base. Really just trying to get my feet wet in long-range shooting and wanting to build my first rig. Components I'm considering (from what little research I've done) are McGowen Varmint contour 26", Boyd's tacticool stock, timney or rifle basix trigger, and Vortex optics. Like I said I'm all ears to any and all suggestions. I have very little gunsmithing experience (bedded one rifle and few other small jobs) and plan to get a buddy to help with the headspace and all that. There seems to be a fair amount of barrels available for the 111 but I'm having trouble finding many stock options that won't empty the wallet. I'd like to shoot the heavier bullets (180gr) and keep this rifle as light as possible as I'd like to carry it hunting some. Also did I say I'm on a budget? Thanks for any advice you can give. Am I even on the right track? Look forward to gaining knowledge here and hopefully I can add what little I do know.

Welcome
    If you don't hand load, a starter kit would be a great place to spend a portion of your budget. A load tuned to your rifle is probably the biggest accuracy improvement you can make for the money spent. Savages are notorious for out of the box accuracy and tuning a load for one can lead to stunning results.
    A good wife and a steady job has ruined many a great hunter.

Basic Member
    On a budget, why not tune up the trigger and keep the Savage barrel to find out how it shoots. Yea, get a good stock and invest in a nice scope. I've done what you are talking about several times and will tell you my best shooter is a 223 Hog Hunter,stock barrel, tuned Accutrigger, and Choate stock.

GOODWIN