Thread: Savage 12 F class Shots Stringing

bionicbob

Savage 12 F class Shots Stringing

I have a Savage model 12 F class in 6.5 284. I have bedded it with Devcon 10110. The rear tang is floated and the barrel is floated .It strings a group of 4 or 5 vertical but stops going vertical after 4 or 5 shots and starts shooting back in the group. It will shoot .7 or .8 at 200 yards and not to prone to stringing. My load is Lapua brass cci br2 primer 51 gr of Hybrid 100 powder and Sierra 142 match kings jumping .0015. I have been hunting and shooting since 1963 and reloading since 1966. But this is my first attempt at target and long range shooting. Any ideas on how to correct this problem would be appreciated.

stangfish
    I wasn't clear on the distance you had vertical stringing and my understanding is that at 200 yards no problem. Thus if the stringing problem is at longer ranges like 400+ the thing to do is look at your ES in velocity.

Basic Member
    Does this happen for the first shots after cleaning the barrel, is it on every group as the barrel heats up? Need more information regarding the situation leading up to this since your loads may be fine and other factors could be the cause, especially if the stringing stops after a few initial shots.

bionicbob
    It seems better with a clean barrel. The second group i shoot is the worst then it gets better. I have shot up to 60 rounds with out cleaning it gets better but never goes away. maybe the bullets just are not settled down at 100 yards. It will shoot almost as good at 200 yards as 100 yards. .6 at 100 and .7 or .8 at 200

bionicbob
    Stangfish I shot this rifle and load in late April in Bliss Idaho at the rock chuck derby at 1050 yards it held a 6 to 7 inch vertical group The wind opened up the horizontal to about 14 inches. my ES is 12 to 14 FPS Maybe i am worrying about nothing Thanks

Basic Member