Thread: Neck tension help

Basic Member

Neck tension help

I have made a mistake and need to know ifI can fix it or not . I am new at this but here goes . I set up my Lee neck sizing die according to their instructions and sized and deprimed my cases , trimmed to all the same length and debured . My new Lee hand primer came and I primed 20 cases , measured out and filled them and started to seat my bullets . The first couple worked great and the next ones the bullet would drop right in with little or no resistance . When I resized I didn't even think of trying a bullet to see if the neck was tight enough , just assumed would be right .now that the cases are primed is there any way I can neck size them again or are they garbage .

Basic Member
    I have re-sized (de-primed) primed cases before. I suppose you should do so very carefully...( it may be safer to just fire the primed case in your rifle without loading with powder and bullet, then de-prime the spent primer ). My guess is your cases did not get necked properly the first time because the collet is getting hung-up inside the die. Before proceeding, take it apart, polish the collet with fine grit sand paper or emery cloth, clean, and then lube with white lithium grease. You may have to do this several times until everything moves freely inside the die. After that, you should be good to go.

Basic Member
    Thanks for the information , I will fire off the primed cases and take the die apart like you suggested .

Basic Member
    I did what you said and took the die apart . The first piece came out ok and the decamping pin was a struggle and is covered in rust , but the tapered , slotted piece will barley move . can't get the MF out . You are right it must be hanging up . These are new Lee dies just came from Titan Reloading last week .have sprayed gun oil on it and will keep trying .

Basic Member
    No need to fire the primers. Take the decapper out of the die and then resize them.

Basic Member