Thread: Any benefit going from a 26" to a 28" barrel?

nates450r

Any benefit going from a 26" to a 28" barrel?

Hello everyone I'm new here and would like to say hi

i have a model 10flp .308 with a 24" barrel with 1.10 twist (first gun i ever bought new)
    i love the long distance tactical/sniper side of shooting so this gun fits me well.

i basically want to get a new barrel because (I think it makes the gun look meaner) i know
    there are other performace benefits as well. i really like the way the 26" barrels look on these guns
    i have been looking a McGowan's website for prices.

so now i saw the 28" barrel and want to know (if there is any) benefit going from a 26 to a 28 inch barrel in .308
    i plan to shoot light to med ammo 110-175 grain (long range)

I'm not a gun expert but i think there comes a point when you can over barrel a rifle.
    what are the benefits i can expect to see from changing from a 24" barrel??

my friend has the newer 20" barrel model and he wants my 24" inch

Uncle Jack

Re: Any benefit going from a 26" to a 28" barrel?

What weight bullets are you shooting?

uj

nates450r

lightest 110--- heavist 175 (factory for now) loads

nates450r

I'm not positive and correct me if I'm wrong but i think that the heaver
    bullets would work better with longer barrels.

snoog37

Slight increase in velocity--if you handload (slower burn powder), possibly with factory ammo. With the 308 round, I'm not sure the difference will be much. 40fps maybe?--but that is just a guess--and all guns are unique.

Basic Member

Quote Originally Posted by nates450r
    I'm not positive and correct me if I'm wrong but i think that the heaver
    bullets would work better with longer barrels.
    Twist is what you have to worry about. Barrel length has very little to do with stabilizing bullets. If it did have some bearing on how a bullet stabilized then there would be a lot of upset pistol shooters.

Dolomite

Uncle Jack