Thread: Model 16 300 WSM to 243 AI technical difficulties

Model 16 300 WSM to 243 AI technical difficulties

To start off this is my 4th Savage build so I'm not really a newbie anymore but I didn't foresee this problem at all. I recently bought a model 16 chambered in 300 WSM with plans to convert it to a 243 AI Criterion barrel. The parts came in today including magazine box, follower, 308 bolt head. I had the action all set up in the Wheeler action wrench and screwed the barrel in. I placed the go gage into the chamber and screwed the barrel in until the gage touched what I thought was the bolt head. So I removed the go gage and replaced it with the no-go and the bolt closed on it. I found out that the barrel had just ran out of threads and that's why it stopped. Now I'm confused, so for the hell of it I put the WSM bolt head back on the same bolt and tried it and BINGO it works but obviously I can't use it. I had no idea that the CRF WSM bolt head was a little longer than the standard push feed 308 bolt head. A search on Midway USA found only the left and right hand push feed 308 bolt heads. The question is does the bolt head I require even exist or would I be better off putting the barrel on the PTA that it was originally ordered for? I wanted it to be a repeater for hunting woodchucks and use the PTA for a 7mm WSM bench gun but looks like that isn't happening.

Tim

stangfish
    I know this is simple but try it without the barrel nut.

Is the scope base still installed? If so, is the forward screw impeding the barrel makeup?

Tim,

I'm not and expert by any means. Buy chance did you check our recoil lugs width that you have on your 300WSM the case OAL is 2.100 and the case .243 WIN is 2.045 that is .55. It is possible that your recoil lug that you are using off your 300WSM is a hair wide which is keeping your barrel from head spacing correctly.