Thread: Anyone used 80 gr Barnes 243 Tipped TSX bullets on Hogs

TechHunter

Anyone used 80 gr Barnes 243 Tipped TSX bullets on Hogs

Am planning a spring time hog hunt in Central Florida and would like to use my son's 243. I am looking for advice on the reliability of those Barnes Tipped TSX bullets, as I have never used them before. Mind you, I've shot hogs before, but always using bigger and heavier cartridge/bullets, such as 30-06 and 7mm-08. My concern is that hogs are known to be tough animals and the TSX bullets only have a sectional density of .194, although the company advertises '99-100% weight retention ". If I drive that bullet up to 31 - 3200 FPS out of my son's short barrel, do you think I would run the risk of wounding a hog in the 200 lb range without killing it? I know someone posted a thread about using Barnes 80 gr 243 bullets with excellent results on deer "out to three hundred yards" and also mentioned that the bullet is capable of breaking both shoulders. Anyone shares the same experience on tougher game animals, such as hogs?

Thanks!!

Re: Anyone used 80 gr Barnes 243 Tipped TSX bullets on Hogs

Try it and find out. If you make a good shot and don't kill him immediately, then he'll probably run back in the brush and die. Then you won't have to touch the smelly, flea infested, brucellosis infected varmint.

Feral pigs are invasive nonnative critters that at least deserve an attempt at eradication. They have gotten completely out of hand here in Texas. Do what you can to keep that from happenning in your home state.

[img width=600 height=400]http://i375.photobucket.com/albums/oo194/dlfrosch/pigcart.jpg[/img]

[img width=600 height=450]http://i375.photobucket.com/albums/oo194/dlfrosch/pigpile.jpg[/img]
    VISA loves me since I joined this site.

Sorry about going off on a rant...

The TTSX's are made for expansion and penetration. Can't think of a better ballistic test medium than a 200 pound pig... well, maybe a 300 pound pig. ;D

Good luck,