Thread: Action screw torque

Action screw torque

Any tips on torque specs or practices for a new Stevesn 200? I say new because there are some changes, trigger, recoil pad, and I'm not sure what else. I'm new to Savage/Steven products. Can use all the help I can get. My new 22-250 came in yesterday, and I got it cleaned up, and worked on the "not so bad" axis type trigger. Pretty good break, reasonably smooth, but pretty stout pull. Over all, for what it is,,it's not bad. Changed spring and a got the pull lighter, so I'll wait and see how it shoots,,,,whenever the bases and rings get here. Thanks for any input.... Gary

It's easy just tighten until it feels loose again, all kidding aside if you use Loctite, which you should, everything is good hand tight snug, except for those darn scope mount bases, tighten those till they cry uncle.

Tanks Dean

PS: cool avatar
    RUMs are like woman in Stiletto heals, you know they are going to put you in the poor house, but that has never stopped anyone from pursuing them.

thomae
    Check with the base and ring manufacturer for the correct torque values. IIRC, Usually it's about 15 INCH pounds for rings, perhaps 20 for the crossbolts. Also make sure the screws to mount your bases don't protrude through the action and interfere or jam into the barrel threads. It is easy to shorten them with a file, grinder, or sander. Jm2c.

Thomae,what does IIRC mean?
    Willing to give back for what the sport has done for me!

If I recall correctly

Dean
    RUMs are like woman in Stiletto heals, you know they are going to put you in the poor house, but that has never stopped anyone from pursuing them.