Thread: What should I expect?

pequeajim

What should I expect?

I am a beginner and bought a Mark II BTVS which I really like. I've been getting 2.5" groups at 100 yards with a scope, but after a few hundred rounds, it is only getting marginally better.

I guess there a are a lot of people on here who are getting better results, and I just want to get a feel for what I should expect at my experience level.

Sent from my Nexus 7 using Tapatalk HD

MidwesternMutt
    Stop shooting for the day while it is still fun. Don't judge yourself by how well others do. Look for improvement in yourself over time.

Basic Member
    Since you mention you're a beginner, your experience at dealing with the wind is going to be the biggest factor. At 100yds a 22LR can move significantly with even a 5mph breeze. Having an accurate rifle and truly match-grade ammo certainly helps, but even that isn't going to give decent groups unless you learn how to deal with the wind.

It's hard to give an exact number of what to expect as so much will depend on your ability/experience at dealing with the wind. With experience and good ammo I'd shoot for getting down to 1.5" groups or better, but for a beginner 2.5" really isn't that bad at 100yds. You'll read a lot on the internet about people shooting groups under 1" at 100yds, but I can tell you from experience that very few shooters can consistently do that. Only a small percentage of shooters can truly shoot groups under 1" at 100yds with regularity, but most people just get one or two groups that are good and that's the ones they're basing their accuracy on (completely forgetting about all the other 2" groups they've shot ), so don't get discouraged by reports you see on the internet. Just learn everything you can about how the wind affects your bullet in flight and practice a lot.
    [b]A witty saying proves nothing - Voltaire (1694-1778)[/b]

pequeajim